h1

Motivation

November 3, 2008

I was feeling very unmotivated recently (as you can probably see by the lack of posts on this blog — I apologize), perhaps because of the darker mornings, perhaps because of the ever-coming work in my day job. I don’t know that it was any one thing. I don’t think it’s ever any one thing. But whatever the reason(s), I needed a good kick in my butt.

Not to say that I haven’t been writing. I managed a good couple weeks of getting up early and sitting in front of the computer every morning, and some mornings, I actually got some good stuff done. But it always felt tough, like I was dragging myself.

Then one morning, I was stuck on a particular section and I allowed a distraction to get to me, I started reading the writing blogs I subscribe to on my iGoogle page, and, after following a few interesting links, I got to author Holly Lisle’s website. While browsing her nav bar, I found gold: How To Quit Your Day Job. Eureka! I keep thinking that if I could just quit my day job, I’d have so much more time to write.

I devoured the six-part article looking for some part that would say, “Quit now! Just do it! You’ll be all right. And if you need money, just wish for it and the out-of-work-author’s money tree will come to your rescue.”

Ok, maybe I wasn’t that niave. But I did hope that she would offer some secret way to start working as a full-time novelist before you’re a full-time novelist. But, she didn’t. She pretty much said what I already knew: work on your novel while you’re doing something else, save your money and don’t quit your day job until you have enough savings to support you for six months to a year AND you have the strong prospect of money coming in either through signed contracts or a book sale.

Even though the information was all stuff I had already figured out, it felt really good reading her article, because she talked about when she did it — and she had to do it twice, the first time to much warning from her family and friends and the second time permanently. It felt good to know that someone else was in the same boat as me at one time, working hard to balance family, a day job and writing, and she stuck with it, busted her butt and became a full-time novelist. If she can do it, I can do it.

And you can do it too. November is National Novel Writing Month, where you sign up and join thousands of other participants in writing a 50,000-word novel in one month. It’s doable; lots of people have done it for the last few years. It’s not important that you write a masterpiece in that time. It’s just important that you write. It’s a way of encouraging people to do what we’re always talking about on this blog: sitting down — or standing if you’re so inclined — and writing, no matter what you’re writing, whether it’s brilliant or dreary (that’s what editing is for), just so long as you’re writing.

I didn’t sign up to participate because I’m in revising mode, and I couldn’t figure out a good way to enter word counts when I’m not writing something fresh. But, with Holly Lisle’s inspiration pushing me along, I’m going to unofficially participate in National Novel Writing Month by making sure that I write every day.

Want to join me? Let me know if you’re writing with NANOWRIMO, or, if not, be an every-dayer like me. I tell you what, I’ll check in with a blog post every day to let you know I wrote, and you can do the same. I set a goal that I would be finished with my novel edit by the end of November. I’m behind on that and don’t know if I’ll make it, but working every day, maybe I will.

Good luck and Write On!

30 comments

  1. […] Day By Day Writer Balancing work, life and the desire to create « Motivation […]


  2. […] Checking in a little late today, but I can report for my National Novel Writing Month goals that I got up and wrote for about an hour this […]


  3. […] in late in the day, but again reporting about an hour of writing this morning, as part of my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing […]


  4. […] So far so good on Day 5 of my unofficial participation of National Novel Writing Month. […]


  5. […] It’s day 6 in my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month and all is still going well. I wrote another three and a half pages today on the new story […]


  6. […] morning, but I did get some in this evening. It’s not as much as I would have liked for my unofficial participation of NaNoWriMo, but it’s […]


  7. […] It has been more than a week in my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month. […]


  8. […] day 9 of my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month, I got up early and finished the revised scene I’ve been having problems with. And this […]


  9. I decided to write the children’s book I have had in my head since January during NaNoWriMo. At day 11 I am up to just over 31,000 words.

    Over the past 11 deays I have variously loved, hated, or been indifferent to my book, and today, for the first time since I started, it has taken on a life of its own; the characters are becoming more real and interesting, and I’m looking forward to my daily session.

    I actually think it could be quite good…


  10. That’s wonderful, Tricia. Yeah, it’s funny how the characters and story will take over after a while. Congratulations on your word count. Looks like you’re way ahead to get to 50,000 by the end of the month. Keep it up, and let us know how you get along.


  11. […] Day 10 These days seem to be flying by. I can’t believe it’s already day 10 of my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month. […]


  12. […] today, as I worked late in my day job and almost forgot to check in. But the good news is that my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month is progressing fine. My novel revision is still going well, slowly, but well. I’m figuring […]


  13. […] Day 12 Another late post. Busy day today. But it was a good writing morning for day 12 of my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month. […]


  14. […] Valley SCBWI conference, and Sunday I was tired and took the day off. I know, missed days in my unofficial participation of National Novel Writing Month, but as it’s UNofficial, I’ll just count this as day 13 and keep going until I get to […]


  15. […] Part 2 I was off work today, so I managed to get more writing done than usual in day 14 of my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month. Like any day that start out clear, mine quickly got filled up and I spent the morning running […]


  16. […] Part 3 No writer’s block anymore! At least for now. I got up this morning, day 15 in my unofficial participation of National Novel Writing Month, and the words swam out. I’m almost done fixing the middle mess I had from the first draft, […]


  17. […] 16 and reading books All’s going well in my continued unofficial participation of National Novel Writing Month. This morning I was back to revising chapters I had already written in my first draft. Everything […]


  18. […] 18 and it’s all in the details Today, for day 18 of my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month, I went back and started revising one of the middle chapters I just wrote. I had planned to do this […]


  19. […] Day 19 Just a quick post today to check in on day 19 of my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month. […]


  20. […] Day 20 and new goals Another quick post today to just check in for my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month. […]


  21. […] Day 21 By daybydaywriter Another quick check in today, as part of my unofficial participation on National Novel Writing Month. […]


  22. […] got a late start this morning, but I managed to do some revisions this afternoon for day 22 in my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month. I actually wouldn’t mind continuing, but I have a dog to walk and a grocery store to visit. […]


  23. […] in the check-in for my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month, this post is actually checking in for yesterday. I got up early and got a good hour in yesterday […]


  24. […] By daybydaywriter Quick check in for day 24 of my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month to say that I wrote for a bit this morning, but I’m already behind on my new goal of two […]


  25. […] 25 and 26 and Authors Read By daybydaywriter Forgot to check in for my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month yesterday, so this is a double […]


  26. […] both yesterday and today so didn’t get any writing done. I’m once again behind on my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month, which for most people ended Nov. 30. I vowed to do 30 days, and I still have four to go — of […]


  27. […] By daybydaywriter And I’m back on track! As promised, for the much belated day 27 of my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month, I got up early and finished my […]


  28. […] 28 and discipline By daybydaywriter Another good writing day. For day 28 of my delayed unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month, I got up at 6:30 and got a good two hours of writing in — after I read J.A. Konrath’s […]


  29. […] By daybydaywriter Whoopee! It feels good to be moving along in my revision. For day 29 in my unofficial participation of National Novel Writing Month, I finished the new early chapter I had planned in my outline/timeline and moved around some other […]


  30. […] 30 and end of unofficial NaNoWriMo By daybydaywriter I finally made it to the end of my unofficial participation in National Novel Writing Month – four days late. I started on Nov. 3 and vowed to work on my rewrite every day for 30 […]



Leave a comment